CBD Years Old – How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy CBD?
by Alissa Gardner | 07 December, 2022
Subscribe Product & Save 20% + Get Free Shipping!
💰 Save 20%
🚚 Your order will automatically ship
📅 Choose shipping frequency between 2, 4, 6, 8, and 12 weeks
⏯ Skip, pause, or edit your subscription with one click - cancel anytime
🙌 It's all hassle-free
At this point in history, CBD oil has already marked its name in the areas of health, wellness, and beauty. It has been widely used for its potential health effects. But as much hype as it has gained, the legal aspects of its usage have also been a major concern for many.
One such legal issue is the age restriction on buying CBD products. To buy a pack of cigarettes or a bottle of beer, you must be at least 21 (in most states). Even buying fireworks and knives has a minimum age limit. But what about CBD oil – are there any restrictions on who can buy it in-store or order online?
Well, the answer is a bit complicated – and this article will explain why. To begin, we’ll take a look at the legalities of CBD in different states, the current federal laws on purchasing CBD, as well as the potential risks associated with providing access to minors. So, if you’re interested in learning more about the age restriction on buying CBD, then this article is definitely for you.
What Makes Hemp-Derived CBD Legal?
The 2018 Farm Bill was a milestone in CBD legality. This legislation removed hemp from the Controlled Substance Act, effectively making CBD legal in all 50 states. Now, because of this ruling, CBD can be sold and purchased in retail stores and online across the US.
The source of your CBD product matters, however. Hemp and marijuana are both plants in the Cannabis genus, but they have one key difference – the amount of THC they contain. Hemp plants typically contain less than 0.3% THC, while marijuana can contain up to 30%. This is why hemp-derived CBD oil products are legal under the Farm Bill, while marijuana-derived products are still in a legal grey area.
CBD Age Limit Requirements
So, considering the fact that CBD oils and other products are not controlled by law the same way as alcohol or tobacco, it could be assumed that there is no age restriction as to who can buy them. However, this isn’t quite true – some states have actually gone so far as to set a minimum age for CBD purchase.
Age Restrictions on CBD on Federal Level
On the federal level, there is no age requirement for buying CBD. This is because the federal government does not consider hemp-derived CBD oil to be a controlled substance – as long as it contains less than 0.3% THC.
CBD is not controlled by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), so there are no age restrictions for purchasing it. However, the FDA does recommend that people should not use hemp products if they are under 18 since their bodies may be more sensitive to the effects of cannabidiol.
Age Restrictions in 50 States
On the state level, things get a bit more complicated. Although it is legal on the federal level, it doesn’t necessarily grant you the legal right to buy CBD oil in every state. Some states try to limit CBD use, while others advocate for both recreational and medical use.
|Alabama||Follows the federal guidelines (focusing on the source of the CBD product) and does not have a minimum age requirement for purchasing CBD.|
|Alaska||Requires you to be at least 21 years old to buy CBD in-store or online. The low number of CBD stores in the state makes it difficult to find CBD products.|
|Arizona||Allows for the free use of CBD and doesn’t impose any age restrictions on hemp CBD.|
|Arkansas||Both hemp and marijuana-derived products are legal for medicinal use, but only hemp-derived CBD is allowed for recreational purposes. No CBD age limit requirements are currently in place.|
|California||Uses a separate set of regulations for hemp CBD, with the cannabidiol trade not yet being legalized in the state. As such, most stores require you to be 18 years old in order to buy CBD.|
|Colorado||Takes a liberal approach to hemp and marijuana, with all kinds of CBD products being available for anyone over the age of 18.|
|Connecticut||Requires you to obtain a separate license to buy CBD, which is only available to those over the age of 18.|
|Delaware||Allows only for industrial hemp-derived products and requires you to be 18 years old or older in order to purchase CBD products.|
|Florida||Requires a license only for those who want to cultivate and sell their products; people aged 18 and over can freely buy CBD products.|
|Georgia||Only allows hemp-derived CBD to be obtained by those over the age of 18.|
|Hawaii||Rules out the purchase of CBD by minors. The legal age for buying hemp products is 18, however, some stores require you to be at least 21.|
|Idaho||Forbids the sale of products containing any amount of THC – hemp plant products sold there must be made from CBD isolate, and the age requirement depends on the specific jurisdiction (either 18 or 21).|
|Illinois||Takes a liberal stance on both marijuana and hemp-derived CBD products, provided that you are 21 years old or over.|
|Indiana||Bans recreational marijuana use and has no medical marijuana program. CBD falls into the same legal category as hemp, and people aged 18 or 21 (depending on the jurisdiction) and older can purchase it freely.|
|Iowa||Imposes no age or source restriction on CBD, provided it is compliant with federal rules.|
|Kansas||Permits medicinal CBD use only for people aged 18 and over. Recreational use of CBD containing even trace amounts of THC is still illegal.|
|Kentucky||Requires a doctor’s recommendation, which typically means that you must be at least 18 to buy CBD.|
|Louisiana||Does not require any special permissions for hemp-derived cannabidiol products – anyone aged 18 and over can purchase them freely.|
|Maine||Allows for hemp-derived cannabis product use only for those aged 21 and over.|
|Maryland||Follows the 2018 Farm Bill rules and doesn’t impose any age restrictions on hemp-derived CBD products.|
|Massachusetts||Allows for both medical and recreational use of CBD, with the only age restriction being that you must be at least 18 to buy CBD.|
|Michigan||Like Massachusetts, has no CBD age restrictions.|
|Minnesota||Has a separate set of laws concerning CBD stating that hemp-derived products can be legally sold to anyone 18 and over.|
|Mississippi||Requires you to be at least 18 years old to buy CBD oil, however, minors can use CBD if they have a doctor’s recommendation.|
|Missouri||Follows the 2018 Farm Bill; some stores may require you to be 21 years old or older in order to purchase CBD.|
|Montana||Also follows the 2018 Farm Bill, and certain stores may require age validation.|
|Nebraska||Similarly, allows for CBD extracts to be purchased by anyone aged 18 and over.|
|Nevada||Has a strict age limit on CBD purchase, which is 18 years old.|
|New Hampshire||Allows for the purchase of hemp products by anyone 18 and over, though some stores may increase the limit.|
|New Jersey||Follows the 2018 Farm Bill, only imposes age restrictions on medical marijuana use.|
|New Mexico||Requires you to be at least 18 years old to purchase CBD-derived products; for cannabis-derived products, medical cannabis CBD sales license is required.|
|New York||Allows anyone over 18 to buy CBD with the exception of smoke and vape products – there, the age limit is set to 21.|
|North Carolina||Follows federal CBD laws, with the age requirement being 18.|
|North Dakota||As above, requires you to be at least 18 years of age in order to buy industrial hemp products.|
|Ohio||Follows the 2018 Farm Bill and doesn’t impose any age requirements; certain stores may have their own restrictions.|
|Oklahoma||You must be at least 18 years old in order to buy CBD products derived from industrial hemp. Minors can obtain a doctor’s permission.|
|Oregon||With recreational marijuana use being legal, it still imposes CBD age requirements – you need to be at least 18 to buy CBD.|
|Pennsylvania||Adopted the federal law, leaving age validation to individual stores.|
|Rhode Island||Allows anyone over the age of 21 to buy CBD.|
|South Carolina||Has its own definition of CBD and only allows medical CBD use for people aged 18 and older.|
|South Dakota||Requires you to be at least 18 years old to buy CBD products, except if permitted by a medical professional.|
|Tennessee||Only allows acquiring CBD from registered entities and imposes an age limit of 21.|
|Texas||Allows medical CBD use to people of any age.|
|Utah||Does not impose any age restrictions, leaving it up to individual stores and vendors.|
|Vermont||You must be at least 21 years old in order to purchase recreational CBD-derived products.|
|Virginia||Follows the 2018 Farm Bill, imposing no age restrictions on broad and full-spectrum CBD.|
|Washington||Allows anyone age 18 and up to buy CBD supplements while restricting CBD dispensary access to those 21 and over.|
|West Virginia||Maintains federal regulations, allowing people of any age to purchase CBD.|
|Wisconsin||Only allows hemp-derived CBD products for purchase by people over the age of 18, with medical dispensaries limited to those over 21.|
|Wyoming||Follows federal law and allows anyone aged 18 and over to purchase industrial hemp-derived CBD.|
Are All CBD Products the Same?
However, it’s easy to get confused about which CBD forms are federally legal and which may fall under stricter regulations. So let’s take a look at the different types of CBD products and their legal status.
Hemp-Derived CBD vs Marijuana-Derived CBD
Possibly the biggest confusion stems from the fact that hemp and marijuana-derived CBD are two different things. As mentioned above, industrial hemp contains little to no THC, making it a safe and legal option for those looking to buy CBD products.
On the other hand, marijuana-derived CBD products contain a much higher amount of THC (often up to 30%). This means that while it may be legally available in states where recreational use is allowed, only qualified patients can obtain and consume these types of products with a doctor’s recommendation.
Different Types of CBD Products
Many stores sell CBD in various forms. Some of them, such as CBD gummies or hemp oil are considered to be health supplements or beauty products – which means they can be bought without any additional restrictions.
On the other hand, products like CBD vaping oils or the CBD flower itself fall under the inhalable CBD category. This means that, in some states, they are subject to the same regulations as tobacco products, only allowing adults over the age of 21 to purchase them.
Buying CBD Online
If you want to buy CBD online, all you need to do is to find a reputable store, place your order, and wait for the product to arrive. Yet, some issues may arise if you live in states where certain CBD products are not legal.
For example, if you live in a state that limits the sale of marijuana-derived CBD to qualified patients only, and your online store sells both types of CBD oil without specifying which one it is selling, then purchasing this product might be illegal for anyone who doesn’t have a medical card. With that said, always make sure to check with local laws before buying any type of CBD product online.
Why Does Age Matter?
As mentioned before, while there are no official federal restrictions on who can consume CBD, whether in the form of CBD oil or CBD gummies, it doesn’t mean that they are risk-free. This is why every state has its own set of regulations when it comes to CBD age restrictions – and for a good reason, too.
CBD affects the body differently depending on one’s metabolic rate, lifestyle habits, etc., and developing bodies may be more sensitive to the effects of CBD oil. This is why it’s important for minors to seek medical advice before consuming any form of cannabis products, including those containing only trace amounts of THC.
Can I Give My Children CBD Oil?
If you are a parent of an underage child, it’s important to talk about the potential risks associated with CBD consumption. While many parents may be tempted to give their children some form of cannabis-derived products in hopes that they will help alleviate symptoms or conditions such as anxiety and depression, this is not recommended without consulting your pediatrician first.
At the present time, there isn’t enough evidence on how CBD oil affects minors – both when it comes to single and chronic CBD use – so if you have any concerns whatsoever regarding giving your kid something containing cannabidiol, then it’s best to speak with a doctor first and make an informed decision.
featured in this article
from only 39.95
Orange Bliss Organic CBD Tincture (Broad Spectrum)
from only 58.46
18 February, 2023
CBD Tinctures and Parenting: Parental Stress Management and Overall Wellness Support
by Alissa Gardner
16 February, 2023
CBD Tinctures and Relaxation: Create a Relaxing Atmosphere at Home
by Alissa Gardner